How to install Firefox Flash Plugin in Ubuntu Linux

Posted on 20 May 2009. Filed under: Linux | Tags: , |

I looked up how to install flash plugin on Ubuntu linux. I went over to the guide at easylinux.info like I always do (first), and tried what it said. It said the same thing I found in all kinds of forums posts, run this code:


sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree
sudo update-flashplugin

If you already have it – you’ll get the “already the newest version” message. Chances are though – you get the “installation failed” message like I did. So I read some more in the forums, and some said you could get the plugin direct from Macromedia.

I found this is true. You can visit http://www.macromedia.com (www.adobe.com) and just click on the “get flash” button to go directly to the download page for the linux version of the flash 7 plugin (official version from Macromedia). All you have to do is download this to your desktop, open terminal and go to that directory, and run:


$ sudo ./flashplayer-installer

The only thing you really need to know is the path or location of your Mozilla Firefox. You can run “which firefox” in terminal to find that out. For most Ubuntu (dapper) users it’s going to be /usr/lib/firefox. Then, just follow the prompt of the Macromedia installer to install.

But WAIT! After I did this – my firefox flash plugin STILL didn’t work (and boy was I pissed!). I must have read 4 dozens posts in ubuntuforums.org without a single answer. I did get this fixed just today – but I didn’t find this fix posted anywhere – I figure it all out on my own. If you have tried any one (or all) of the install options above, and firefox flash plugin still doesn’t work – try this:

1. In synaptic package manager, completely remove libflash-mozplugin. Make SURE you use the “completely remove” option, that gets rid of the gstreamer-ugly and couple other packages.
2. Download the latest flash plugin from http://www.adobe.com.
3. Unzip it to a folder on your desktop.
4. In terminal cd to that dir and sudo ./flashplayer-installer
5. follow the prompts, and make sure the path to your plugins is right

Then see if flash works in a browser – it should work just fine now on all the sites. You won’t be able to use flash 9 content (yet), but you should be able to view most things with no problem. I hope this helps some people, I couldn’t find this fix anywhere on the web.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Siapa sih ini ?

  • Kategori

  • Masa Lalu

  • Follow me…

  • Apaan nih ?

  • Yang tersesat

    • 99,128 orang
  • Paling menyesatkan

    • Almanak

      May 2009
      M T W T F S S
      « Mar   Jun »
       123
      45678910
      11121314151617
      18192021222324
      25262728293031

    Liked it here?
    Why not try sites on the blogroll...

